Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



Chongqing Machinery & Electric Co., Ltd.* 重 慶 機 電 股 份 有 限 公 司

(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 02722)

CHANGE OF DIRECTOR AND SUPERVISOR

Reference is made to the Announcement for Poll Results of the Extraordinary General Meeting of Chongqing Machinery & Electric Co., Ltd.* (the "Company") held on 31 August 2009 (the "Announcement") published on 31 August 2009.

Unless otherwise defined herein, the capitalised terms used in this announcement shall bear the same meaning as defined in the Announcement.

The board of directors (the "Board") of the Company announces that Mr. Sun Nengyi ("Mr. Sun") resigned from the office of executive Director and chairman of the Company and Mr. Ye Zusheng ("Mr. Ye") resigned from the office of the Supervisor of the Company with effective from 31 August 2009.

Mr. Sun resigned from the office of executive Director and chairman as he reaches the statutory retirement age. Mr. Ye resigned from the office of Supervisor due to change of job. Both Mr. Sun and Mr. Ye have confirmed that there is no disagreement between them and the Board and/or the Supervisory Committee, and there is no matter relating to their resignation that has to be brought to the attention of the Shareholders of the Company.

The Board wishes to take this opportunity to express its gratitude to Company for their contributions to the Company during their term of service with the Company.

By Order of the Board Chongqing Machinery & Electric Co., Ltd.* Xie Hua Jun

Executive Director, Chairman

Chongqing, the PRC 1 September 2009

As at the date of this announcement, the executive Directors are Mr. Xie Hua Jun, Mr. He Yong, Mr. Liao Shaohua and Mr. Chen Xianzheng; the non-executive Directors are Mr. Huang Yong, Mr. Yu Gang, Mr. Yang Jingpu and Mr. Wu Jian; and the independent non-executive Directors are Mr. Lo Wah Wai, Mr. Ren Xiaochang and Mr. Kong Weiliang.

* For identification purposes only